Mary Morony, Author of Apron Strings, Done Growed Up and If It Ain't One Thing

Southern Fried Fiction, Mary Morony

 

Southern Novelist, Mary Morony, delivers a tour de force of honest characters, lively humor, and painful tragedy. She writes her novels in a candid voice, refusing to sugarcoat the overt racism and making it clear that a small family in Virginia won’t change the bullheaded beliefs of others.  Mary brings Southern charm, irreverence, and wit to bear on subjects as vast as racism and as personal as alcoholism. She consistently writes about life experiences, complex issues, funny observations, and sometimes even ridiculous topics right here on THIS WEBSITE. If you don’t want to miss a moment to be entertained, inspired, or otherwise amused – please sign up for updates HERE.

 

IfItAintOneThingCoverIf It Ain’t One Thing… book 3 in the Apron Strings Trilogy

PURCHASE NOW ON AMAZON.COM HERE

 

One of the best things about this latest novel is it is set almost fifty years later than the first two. Besides most of the original characters, there is a whole new generation of Mackeys, plus in-laws and outlaws.

 

The gang’s all here, for the most part, and are all gearing up for the wedding of the century. Sallee’s self-centered and petulant daughter, Virginia, wants a Christmas wedding with every bell, whistle and gem-encrusted ornament. Burning up Sallee’s American Express card at every turn, Virginia has also decided on the perfect venue for her nuptials – her grandparents, Joe and Ginny’s place. Though a huge undertaking, the Mackey’s seem a more concerned with the fact that they know very little about the impending groom.

 

Learn more about If It Ain’t One Thing… HERE

PURCHASE IF IT AIN’T ONE THING ON AMAZON.COM

 

_________________________________________________________________

 

 Done Growed Up, book 2 in the Apron Strings Trilogy

 

Addiction, divorce, racism, and the horrors of puberty have knocked Sallee Mackey on her ear.  Her family is broken.  The only calm in the storm is Ethel, the maid; the heart, soul, and inspiration in the Mackey household.  Ethel’s skin color seems to make her unworthy in the eyes of other authority figures in Sallee’s life. How many different women will her father bring into their lives and which ones are important?  Why is Sallee’s older sister so moody and mean and why is her brother sent into a rage by the slightest thing? How does a young girl accept that her alcoholic mother can’t seem to think of anything but herself?

Learn more about Done Growed Up HERE

 

GET A SNEAK PEEK OF DONE GROWED UP HERE or Purchase Done Growed Up NOW on AMAZON.COM!

 

_________________________________________________________________

 

Mary Morony’s first Novel, Apron Strings

 

 

Complex and multi-layered, “Apron Strings,” the first novel in the series, is a deftly written and compelling read from beginning to end and is both up-lifting and tragic. Mary Morony creates word portraits of her characters and crafts her stories masterfully. Apron Strings is a powerful, touching and funny novel in the vein of To Kill A Mockingbird, Fried Green Tomatoes and The Help. A story of love and bigotry, family and the people who love us, author Mary Morony shares a story based on her own Southern childhood and the lives of the people around her. Apron Strings, set in the Charlottesville in the 1950’s during a turbulent time where racism and love collide and huge gaps exist in the lives of everyone involved. More than just a story about racism, this is also a story about substance abuse and the abuse of people and power to try to fill the holes left in lives by hate and anger.

 

GET A SNEAK PEEK OF APRON STRINGS HERE OR PURCHASE APRON STRINGS NOW!

READER REVIEWS

What a wonderful installment of this charming story! So often the story lulls in the middle of trilogies, NOT SO HERE as Morony does a fantastic job of keeping the plot moving and the reader connected and engaged with the characters, it’s hard for your fingers to keep up turning the pages. I can’t wait to see where life takes The Mackeys next! Highly recommend!!

Book Lover

If you liked To Kill a Mockingbird and The Help, you’ll love Apron Strings. It’s the quintessential story of life in the south, where racism and Southern charm coexist. It’s narrated by 7-year-old Sallee, who looks to Ethel, the family’s black maid as her surrogate mother. Mary Morony’s rich characters, twisting plot and beautiful writing show that love has no color.

Sissy Spacek

Great read! This book has so much heart. Sallee’s adventures and witty commentary keep you entertained and the pages turning but it’s the honest portrayal of human sentiment that makes this book so great. I laughed, I cried, I went through the gamut of emotions from cover to cover and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. I would highly recommend to any and everyone!

Southern Storytelling at its best!

In this second installment of a historical fiction trilogy, a couple’s divorce results in repercussions for all the members of the Mackey family in 1963 Virginia.

Twelve-year-old Sallee Mackey is coping well since her parents Joe and Ginny split up, in part because she’s fond of her dad’s new friend, Linda. But little sister Helen’s too nervous to even discuss their father’s place while a…

KIRKUS Review

Realistic Yet Uplifting Story

Mary Morony has done a wonderful job of describing central Virginia life in the 1950s and 1960s. Her characters are vivid and realistic. She describes them as individuals rather than as members of any certain group of people. She sympathetically shows them with their tender hearts as well as their human foibles. She describes honest interaction between blacks and whi…

Arlie Alexander

I know that you were portraying the very real love between a black housekeeper and her white family. But you were also portraying the everyday tragedy of human beings coping with their personal limitations and the prejudices (not just racial) of the people around them. We are prisoners of ourselves. But there is hope. And Ethel provides us hope in the end by being inspired and taking responsibilit…

Gayle Engbrecht

Whether you are staying out of the heat or diving into the water I have a great must read recommendation for you this summer.  Apron Strings by local author Mary Morony hits every note perfectly.  A coming of age story which is set in our own backyard, this novel will propel you down memory lane if you grew up in this area. Even if you are not from Charlottesville, the Southern flavor is sure to…

Book Worm Book Reviews

Virginia author Mary Marony is a Southern humanist who stepped onto the literary stage with an exceptionally elegant and deeply meaningful debut novel, APRON STRINGS. She lived in the South during the times about which she writes, waited until later in life to embrace her higher education by earning an degree in English form the University of Virginia, and then turned her personal history into an …

Grady Harp, Vine Voice

Apron Strings is a brilliantly written book by Mary Morony that is a must-read for everyone. This beautiful piece follows the lives of two people whose lives intertwine in rural Virginia in the 1950’s. We meet Ethel, an African-American woman in the 1930’s who makes a living doing domestic work and young, Caucasian Sallee in the 1950’s. And although their stories are told from separate view point…

JB Maynard

Wonderfully put together all the drama so relatable either got me rejoicing or dubiously confused or emotionally draining. Each character built themselves up and to follow them, ‘exciting.’ Crazy but true I could feel Sallee’s troubles and her emotional dilemmas; however Ethel, her character played an important part here for this family. Don’t you think in your life that one person who wil…

It Will Consume You

MY BLOG

); ga('require', 'linkid', 'linkid.js'); ga('send', 'pageview');