Mary Morony, Author of Apron Strings, Done Growed Up and If It Ain't One Thing

Southern Fried Fiction, Mary Morony

 

Southern Novelist, Mary Morony, delivers a tour de force of honest characters, lively humor, and painful tragedy. She writes her novels in a candid voice, refusing to sugarcoat the overt racism and making it clear that a small family in Virginia won’t change the bullheaded beliefs of others.  Mary brings Southern charm, irreverence, and wit to bear on subjects as vast as racism and as personal as alcoholism. She consistently writes about life experiences, complex issues, funny observations, and sometimes even ridiculous topics right here on THIS WEBSITE. If you don’t want to miss a moment to be entertained, inspired, or otherwise amused – please sign up for updates HERE.

 

IfItAintOneThingCoverIf It Ain’t One Thing… book 3 in the Apron Strings Trilogy

PURCHASE NOW ON AMAZON.COM HERE

 

One of the best things about this latest novel is it is set almost fifty years later than the first two. Besides most of the original characters, there is a whole new generation of Mackeys, plus in-laws and outlaws.

 

The gang’s all here, for the most part, and are all gearing up for the wedding of the century. Sallee’s self-centered and petulant daughter, Virginia, wants a Christmas wedding with every bell, whistle and gem-encrusted ornament. Burning up Sallee’s American Express card at every turn, Virginia has also decided on the perfect venue for her nuptials – her grandparents, Joe and Ginny’s place. Though a huge undertaking, the Mackey’s seem a more concerned with the fact that they know very little about the impending groom.

 

Learn more about If It Ain’t One Thing… HERE

PURCHASE IF IT AIN’T ONE THING ON AMAZON.COM

 

_________________________________________________________________

 

 Done Growed Up, book 2 in the Apron Strings Trilogy

 

Addiction, divorce, racism, and the horrors of puberty have knocked Sallee Mackey on her ear.  Her family is broken.  The only calm in the storm is Ethel, the maid; the heart, soul, and inspiration in the Mackey household.  Ethel’s skin color seems to make her unworthy in the eyes of other authority figures in Sallee’s life. How many different women will her father bring into their lives and which ones are important?  Why is Sallee’s older sister so moody and mean and why is her brother sent into a rage by the slightest thing? How does a young girl accept that her alcoholic mother can’t seem to think of anything but herself?

Learn more about Done Growed Up HERE

 

GET A SNEAK PEEK OF DONE GROWED UP HERE or Purchase Done Growed Up NOW on AMAZON.COM!

 

_________________________________________________________________

 

Mary Morony’s first Novel, Apron Strings

 

 

Complex and multi-layered, “Apron Strings,” the first novel in the series, is a deftly written and compelling read from beginning to end and is both up-lifting and tragic. Mary Morony creates word portraits of her characters and crafts her stories masterfully. Apron Strings is a powerful, touching and funny novel in the vein of To Kill A Mockingbird, Fried Green Tomatoes and The Help. A story of love and bigotry, family and the people who love us, author Mary Morony shares a story based on her own Southern childhood and the lives of the people around her. Apron Strings, set in the Charlottesville in the 1950’s during a turbulent time where racism and love collide and huge gaps exist in the lives of everyone involved. More than just a story about racism, this is also a story about substance abuse and the abuse of people and power to try to fill the holes left in lives by hate and anger.

 

GET A SNEAK PEEK OF APRON STRINGS HERE OR PURCHASE APRON STRINGS NOW!

READER REVIEWS

In this second installment of a historical fiction trilogy, a couple’s divorce results in repercussions for all the members of the Mackey family in 1963 Virginia.

Twelve-year-old Sallee Mackey is coping well since her parents Joe and Ginny split up, in part because she’s fond of her dad’s new friend, Linda. But little sister Helen’s too nervous to even discuss their father’s place while a…

KIRKUS Review

Having read the first book in the series – Apron Strings – I was thrilled to see this one released. I absolutely love the way Mary Morony writes. She brings her setting and characters to life and creates an ambience with her words that makes me feel a part of the story. Like the first book, this one is beautifully written and full of insight into the period along with observations on the social…

MLH

What a wonderful installment of this charming story! So often the story lulls in the middle of trilogies, NOT SO HERE as Morony does a fantastic job of keeping the plot moving and the reader connected and engaged with the characters, it’s hard for your fingers to keep up turning the pages. I can’t wait to see where life takes The Mackeys next! Highly recommend!!

Book Lover

Complex and multi-layered, “Apron Strings” is a deftly written and compelling read from beginning to end. Author Mary Morony is able to showcase fully developed characters and a superbly crafted story that will linger in the mind long after the novel is finished and set back upon the shelf. “Apron Strings” is highly recommended for personal reading lists and community library general fiction colle…

A white Virginian family in the late 1950s struggles to stay together while enduring a failing marriage and racist neighbors in Morony’s debut historical drama. For the Mackey family, 1957 changed everything, at least according to 7-year-old Sallee. Morony writes in a candid voice, refusing to sugarcoat the overt racism and making it clear that a small family in Virginia won’t change the bullheade…

Kirkus Reviews

Thoughtful and deeply moving, Apron Strings is the debut novel from author Mary Morony. A tale told through the eyes of Sallee and the answers she solicits from Ethel, Morony delivers a masterful narrative that is both beguiling and flawlessly executed. With a meticulous ear for dialogue Morony’s diction is simply exquisite, effortlessly capturing the cultural identities of her leading character…

Book Viral Review

I know that you were portraying the very real love between a black housekeeper and her white family. But you were also portraying the everyday tragedy of human beings coping with their personal limitations and the prejudices (not just racial) of the people around them. We are prisoners of ourselves. But there is hope. And Ethel provides us hope in the end by being inspired and taking responsibilit…

Gayle Engbrecht

The Perfect Read!

Mary Morony’s superbly written, Apron Strings, brought back lost memories of Virginia’s late 50’s/early 60’s…Especially rich is the storyline between seven year old Sallee and Ethel, the family’s maid…So well written, I could actually “hear” their dialogue and I thanked the heavens for the safe haven Ethel tried to provide Sallee from the all too many dysfunctional adults…I smil…

Mackie

Mary Morony is an author of epic proportions. She feels like a secret I want to expose to the world. I recently had the pleasure of interviewing her on my Radio Show, FrankieSense & More, and as someone who interviews a LOT of authors weekly, I must say, Mary really stood out. She writes dialogue that is sumptuous and soothing. The kind of book you can’t put down and wished didn’t end.

Frankie Pic…

Author of Epic Proportions

     . . .First, your time lapses were very good—well-placed, enabling the reader to fill in what might have been difficult personality development.  You didn’t merely tell, you showed.  I particularly found it helpful to know the child rearing, or lack thereof, styles of the domestic help versus the parents of Ginny.  It was logical that Ginny turned out the way she did with no brake fr…

Chris Shepherd

MY BLOG

); ga('require', 'linkid'); ga('send', 'pageview');