Mary Morony, Author of Apron Strings and Done Growed Up

Southern Fried Fiction, Mary Morony

Southern Fiction Novelist, Mary Morony, delivers a tour de force of honest characters, lively humor, and painful tragedy. She writes her novels in a candid voice, refusing to sugarcoat the overt racism and making it clear that a small family in Virginia won’t change the bullheaded beliefs of others.  Mary brings Southern charm, irreverence, and wit to bear on subjects as vast as racism and as personal as alcoholism. She consistently writes about life experiences, complex issues, funny observations, and sometimes even ridiculous topics right here on THIS WEBSITE. If you don’t want to miss a moment to be entertained, inspired, or otherwise amused – please sign up for updates HERE.

 

Introducing Second Novel in the Apron Strings Trilogy from Mary Morony, Southern Fiction Novelist and Indie Author – Done Growed Up 

The first 2 books in the Apron Strings Trilogy from Mary Morony are available for purchase CLICK HERE  (want a sneak peek at Done Growed Up?  Get it HERE.)
Mary Morony Southern Fiction Novelist

Southern Fiction At It’s Finest in a heartwarming, and sometimes heart wrenching, novel that represents all of the qualities readers look when they are looking to be entertained and inspired . Done Growed Up, the second book in Morony’s Apron Strings Trilogy, is available for purchase NOW. Author Mary Morony, is excited to share her second novel with the world!

Author Mary Morony was born and raised in Charlottesville, Virginia, mainly by her family’s beloved black maid.  Her childhood was a time of segregated schools and many places that prohibited black people. Morony’s inspiration for the Apron Strings Trilogy was her strong relationship with her maid and caretaker, who taught her more about life and love than anyone has since. Morony also uses personal life tragedies and triumphs to produce novels with real experiences and true emotion.
“I feel like the trauma in my life has been a gift,” Morony says. “I felt compelled to pass on what I have learned to overcome those traumatic experiences. The Mackey Family was replete with candidates for counseling in Apron Strings. In Done Growed Up, the characters find methods to deal with their addictions, obsessions and anger.”
Morony’s first novel, Apron Strings, was released in 2014 and is touted as a “truly compelling novel” reminiscent of To Kill A Mockingbird and The Help. This novel’s story begins in the year when the state of Virginia attempted to desegregate the public school system. Morony’s story rings true with history and recounts the confusion and bigotry as seen from both sides of the issue. Her characters are compelling and relatable, with personal triumphs and tragedies of their own. Morony lets readers see into the characters’ very souls in order to create true kinships with her readers.
“In Apron Strings, I left some of my characters on the edge at the end. Resolutions to life issues are not always tied up in a neat little bow,” Morony explains. “I wanted my readers to know that they shouldn’t just wait around for someone to ‘happily ever after’ their own life.”

 

GET A SNEAK PEEK OF DONE GROWED UP HERE

Purchase Done Growed Up NOW on >>  AMAZON.COM!

THE NEW DOMINION BOOK SHOP 404 E Main St. in Downtown Charlottesville

DOWNLOAD FOR ITUNES, AUDIBLE & KINDLE

_________________________________________________________________

 

Apron Strings The NovelMary Morony’s first Novel, Apron Strings

 

Complex and multi-layered, “Apron Strings,” the first novel in the series, is a deftly written and compelling read from beginning to end and is both up-lifting and tragic. Mary Morony creates word portraits of her characters and crafts her stories masterfully.

 

Apron Strings is a powerful, touching and funny novel in the vein of To Kill A Mockingbird, Fried Green Tomatoes and The Help. A story of love and bigotry, family and the people who love us, author Mary Morony shares a story based on her own Southern childhood and the lives of the people around her.

 

Apron Strings, set in the Charlottesville in the 1950’s during a turbulent time where racism and love collide and huge gaps exist in the lives of everyone involved. More than just a story about racism, this is also a story about substance abuse and the abuse of people and power to try to fill the holes left in lives by hate and anger.

ORDER APRON STRINGS NOW

READER REVIEWS

Thoughtful and deeply moving, Apron Strings is the debut novel from author Mary Morony. A tale told through the eyes of Sallee and the answers she solicits from Ethel, Morony delivers a masterful narrative that is both beguiling and flawlessly executed. With a meticulous ear for dialogue Morony’s diction is simply exquisite, effortlessly capturing the cultural identities of her leading character…

Book Viral Review

Wonderfully put together all the drama so relatable either got me rejoicing or dubiously confused or emotionally draining. Each character built themselves up and to follow them, ‘exciting.’ Crazy but true I could feel Sallee’s troubles and her emotional dilemmas; however Ethel, her character played an important part here for this family. Don’t you think in your life that one person who wi…
Darlene Cruz

Apron Strings is a brilliantly written book by Mary Morony that is a must-read for everyone. This beautiful piece follows the lives of two people whose lives intertwine in rural Virginia in the 1950’s. We meet Ethel, an African-American woman in the 1930’s who makes a living doing domestic work and young, Caucasian Sallee in the 1950’s. And although their stories are told from separate view point…

JB Maynard


Wonderfully Realized

Author Mary Morony does a terrific job of depicting life in the 1950’s south in this compelling novel of growing up in the segregated society of central Virginia. I literally couldn’t put it down as I was swept into her descriptions of the conflicts and confusion that racism and apartheid inflicted on those (both black and white) who grew up in that era. Highly recommended.

Hedge

… What I like best about the story, however, is the sense of place and time that ever so subtly seems to be catalyst, if not cause, of the decline of Joe, Ginny, and their marriage. And of course, you know that I remember how palpable race was every day in every way in the pre-Lyndon Johnson South of my childhood and adolescence. It really is wonderful how different your portrayal of black-white r…

James W. CunninghamUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

If you liked To Kill a Mockingbird and The Help, you’ll love Apron Strings. It’s the quintessential story of life in the south, where racism and Southern charm coexist. It’s narrated by 7-year-old Sallee, who looks to Ethel, the family’s black maid as her surrogate mother. Mary Morony’s rich characters, twisting plot and beautiful writing show that love has no color.

Sissy Spacek


Terrific read! I’m so attached to the characters.

Morony paints such a vivid picture of the Mackey family, you could almost smell Ginny’s perfume, taste the gin in Ethel’s tin cup or play Barbie with Sallee and Helen. Apron Strings was sweet and compelling, but also disturbing and tragic. I’m dying to read more about Sallee and Ethel. Hurry up and write Mary Morony!

Denise Hood

‘Change; not even the quarter, nickel, or dime type was appreciated in our house.’ Virginia author Mary Morony is a Southern humanist who steps onto the literary stage with an exceptionally elegant and deeply meaningful debut novel, APRON STRINGS. She lived in the South during the times about which she writes, waited until later in life to embrace her higher education by earning an degree in Engli…

Grady Harp, July 14 Amazon


Realistic Yet Uplifting Story

Mary Morony has done a wonderful job of describing central Virginia life in the 1950s and 1960s. Her characters are vivid and realistic. She describes them as individuals rather than as members of any certain group of people. She sympathetically shows them with their tender hearts as well as their human foibles. She describes honest interaction between blacks and whi…

Arlie Alexander

Complex and multi-layered, “Apron Strings” is a deftly written and compelling read from beginning to end. Author Mary Morony is able to showcase fully developed characters and a superbly crafted story that will linger in the mind long after the novel is finished and set back upon the shelf. “Apron Strings” is highly recommended for personal reading lists and community library general fiction colle…