Mary Morony, Author of the Apron Strings Trilogy

Southern Fried Fiction, Mary Morony

 

Southern Novelist, Mary Morony, delivers a tour de force of honest characters, lively humor, and painful tragedy. She writes her novels in a candid voice, refusing to sugarcoat the overt racism and making it clear that a small family in Virginia won’t change the bullheaded beliefs of others.  Mary brings Southern charm, irreverence, and wit to bear on subjects as vast as racism and as personal as alcoholism. She consistently writes about life experiences, complex issues, funny observations, and sometimes even ridiculous topics right here on THIS WEBSITE. If you don’t want to miss a moment to be entertained, inspired, or otherwise amused – please sign up for updates HERE.

 

IfItAintOneThingCoverIf It Ain’t One Thing… book 3 in the Apron Strings Trilogy

PURCHASE NOW ON AMAZON.COM HERE

 

One of the most fun things about this new novel is it is set almost fifty years later than the first two. Besides most of the original characters, there is a whole new generation of Mackeys, plus in-laws and outlaws.

 

The gang’s all here, for the most part, and are all gearing up for the wedding of the century. Sallee’s self-centered and petulant daughter, Virginia, wants a Christmas wedding with every bell, whistle and gem-encrusted ornament. Burning up Sallee’s American Express card at every turn, Virginia has also decided on the perfect venue for her nuptials – her grandparents, Joe and Ginny’s place. Though a huge undertaking, the Mackey’s seem a more concerned with the fact that they know very little about the impending groom.

 

Learn more about If It Ain’t One Thing… HERE

PURCHASE IF IT AIN’T ONE THING ON AMAZON.COM

 

_________________________________________________________________

 

 Done Growed Up, book 2 in the Apron Strings Trilogy

 

Addiction, divorce, racism, and the horrors of puberty have knocked Sallee Mackey on her ear.  Her family is broken.  The only calm in the storm is Ethel, the maid; the heart, soul, and inspiration in the Mackey household.  Ethel’s skin color seems to make her unworthy in the eyes of other authority figures in Sallee’s life. How many different women will her father bring into their lives and which ones are important?  Why is Sallee’s older sister so moody and mean and why is her brother sent into a rage by the slightest thing? How does a young girl accept that her alcoholic mother can’t seem to think of anything but herself?

Learn more about Done Growed Up HERE

 

GET A SNEAK PEEK OF DONE GROWED UP HERE or Purchase Done Growed Up NOW on AMAZON.COM!

 

_________________________________________________________________

 

Mary Morony’s first Novel, Apron Strings

 

 

Complex and multi-layered, “Apron Strings,” the first novel in the series, is a deftly written and compelling read from beginning to end and is both up-lifting and tragic. Mary Morony creates word portraits of her characters and crafts her stories masterfully. Apron Strings is a powerful, touching and funny novel in the vein of To Kill A Mockingbird, Fried Green Tomatoes and The Help. A story of love and bigotry, family and the people who love us, author Mary Morony shares a story based on her own Southern childhood and the lives of the people around her. Apron Strings, set in the Charlottesville in the 1950’s during a turbulent time where racism and love collide and huge gaps exist in the lives of everyone involved. More than just a story about racism, this is also a story about substance abuse and the abuse of people and power to try to fill the holes left in lives by hate and anger.

 

GET A SNEAK PEEK OF APRON STRINGS HERE OR PURCHASE APRON STRINGS NOW!

READER REVIEWS

… What I like best about the story, however, is the sense of place and time that ever so subtly seems to be catalyst, if not cause, of the decline of Joe, Ginny, and their marriage. And of course, you know that I remember how palpable race was every day in every way in the pre-Lyndon Johnson South of my childhood and adolescence. It really is wonderful how different your portrayal of black-white r…

James W. CunninghamUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Wonderfully put together all the drama so relatable either got me rejoicing or dubiously confused or emotionally draining. Each character built themselves up and to follow them, ‘exciting.’ Crazy but true I could feel Sallee’s troubles and her emotional dilemmas; however Ethel, her character played an important part here for this family. Don’t you think in your life that one person who wil…

It Will Consume You

If you liked To Kill a Mockingbird and The Help, you’ll love Apron Strings. It’s the quintessential story of life in the south, where racism and Southern charm coexist. It’s narrated by 7-year-old Sallee, who looks to Ethel, the family’s black maid as her surrogate mother. Mary Morony’s rich characters, twisting plot and beautiful writing show that love has no color.

Sissy Spacek

A white Virginian family in the late 1950s struggles to stay together while enduring a failing marriage and racist neighbors in Morony’s debut historical drama. For the Mackey family, 1957 changed everything, at least according to 7-year-old Sallee. Morony writes in a candid voice, refusing to sugarcoat the overt racism and making it clear that a small family in Virginia won’t change the bullheade…

Kirkus Reviews

Apron Strings simply transports it readers to another place and time. The writing is insightful and beautiful, leading me to quickly empathise with the characters. All of whom are vividly created and have intriguing backstories. As you would expect with a book in this genre there is much reflection and it’s best read on a day where you can close out the world around you and just let the words ta…

Beautifully Written

The Perfect Read!

Mary Morony’s superbly written, Apron Strings, brought back lost memories of Virginia’s late 50’s/early 60’s…Especially rich is the storyline between seven year old Sallee and Ethel, the family’s maid…So well written, I could actually “hear” their dialogue and I thanked the heavens for the safe haven Ethel tried to provide Sallee from the all too many dysfunctional adults…I smil…

Mackie

Magical descriptive writing underpins this entire novel. Rich and discerning they create such a powerful visual image that it is hard not to empathise with the characters or find one’s self swept away to a different era. Best described as a snapshot of extraordinary lives, what makes this very special is the ability of the author Mary Morony to get beneath the veneer of everyday life and explore…

Magical

Wonderfully Realized

Author Mary Morony does a terrific job of depicting life in the 1950’s south in this compelling novel of growing up in the segregated society of central Virginia. I literally couldn’t put it down as I was swept into her descriptions of the conflicts and confusion that racism and apartheid inflicted on those (both black and white) who grew up in that era. Highly recommended.

Hedge

Whether you are staying out of the heat or diving into the water I have a great must read recommendation for you this summer.  Apron Strings by local author Mary Morony hits every note perfectly.  A coming of age story which is set in our own backyard, this novel will propel you down memory lane if you grew up in this area. Even if you are not from Charlottesville, the Southern flavor is sure to…

Book Worm Book Reviews

Apron Strings is a brilliantly written book by Mary Morony that is a must-read for everyone. This beautiful piece follows the lives of two people whose lives intertwine in rural Virginia in the 1950’s. We meet Ethel, an African-American woman in the 1930’s who makes a living doing domestic work and young, Caucasian Sallee in the 1950’s. And although their stories are told from separate view point…

JB Maynard

MY BLOG